If you are a car owner from California and you are shopping for auto insurance, there are some things you need to know before getting coverage.
First of all, according to the Californian law, all vehicles registered in the state must be insured. This means that every car owner, even if with an out-of-state license, must follow the insurance requirements while driving in the state of California.
The following types of liability coverage are required in California:
- Bodily Injury Liability – This coverage will protect you if you are involved in a car accident and are liable for an injury or death of other drivers or passengers. The minimum bodily injury coverage in California is $15,000 per person, and the maximum amount per accident is $30,000.
- Property Damage Liability – This coverage protects you from paying for the damage of other vehicles involved in a car accident if you are found liable. The minimum property damage liability is $5,000.
You have to carry proof of insurance whenever you are driving a car. You need the following information to prove that you have the coverage, the insurance ID card, the name of the policyholder, the start and the end dates of the policy period, and the policy number. You can present electronic documents to prove your coverage as well.
If you are found to be driving in California without auto insurance, your car can be impounded, and your driver’s license – suspended. You can also receive a fine of up to $200 for the first offense and up to $500 – for each subsequent offense within three years.
If you are shopping for auto insurance in San Jose, CA, KC Wilson & Financial Services will be glad to assist you. We are ready to walk you through this process and find you the best coverage according to your needs and budget. Call KC Wilson & Financial Services in San Jose, CA today to receive more information or get a quote.